Dreams Can Come True

“Daniel Stone and his team arrived in South Africa on the 20th of August 2012 with one sole objective in mind, to eradicate poverty in Africa once and for all. So much has been said about poverty and corruption in the African continent but nothing has ever been solved…the 20th of August 2012 would mark the beginning of the end.”

This is a narration of a dream I often have. Do you ever have those nights when you struggle to sleep, rolling around in bed and finding yourself trying to “dream” yourself to sleep? You imagine something that you want to happen and you make into a story, into a “dream”….this is one of mine.

It all started in my days back at Lancaster University. One morning, I woke up and the first thing that sprung to mind was what I had dreamt that night. In my dream, I was in Africa, playing with children, teaching them cockney slang. All I could remember were the children constantly laughing.

That morning, I did my usual routine, shower, breakfast, chitchat with the guys in the kitchen and off to a lecture. I did my routine walk from my residence hall to my lecture room, walking along what is called at Lancaster University as, the “spine”. That morning, to my amazement, with my dream still fresh in mind, as I was walking along the spine I came across a massive poster about donating money to an Non-Governmental-Organisation (NGO) who were trying to raise funds to help out children in Africa. As soon as I saw it I thought that it was is a sign, how could I have just dreamt about this and then come across this poster, this isn’t just a coincidence!

For the next two weeks, every time I walked past the same spot on the spine, I looked at the poster and remembered my dream. It also made me think. This poster must have been there for quite a while. How many times had I seen this poster before I had my dream? Subconsciously, maybe this influenced my dream? How about those TV ads we see about helping poor children and families in Africa, could this have influenced my dream? Answers I will never know.

What I do know is that on 5th of May, my dream will become a reality. I will be moving out to Cape Town, South Africa, for 3 months, working as a volunteer.

Thanks to a very close friend of mine, I came across the perfect project for me (being a football fanatic). The project consists of trying to get homeless children in Cape Town to join a football team which I will eventually be coaching. The team has to be able to compete with other established football teams in South Africa within their age range. The objective is to give these homeless children an opportunity to get into education and at the same time to give them some enjoyment through playing football. You can find more information on the programme I will be going on by visiting this site:

www.you2africa.com

The programme has limited resources and therefore I would very much appreciate anybody who is willing to make any donations towards the programme. We would need to buy basic equipment like football kits, football boots, goalpost nets, footballs, cones, etc., resources that will allow us to give the children the opportunity to be competitive and above all, ensure they have the facilities available to make their experience truly enjoyable. How happy would a child in Africa be if he/she could play football wearing his/her favoutite football team shirt as well as a pair of football boots?

Any donations you wish to make can be done through PayPal.

I will be writing on this blog throughout my time in South Africa so if you are interested in following my experience make sure you stay tuned.

8 Comments

Filed under Africa

8 responses to “Dreams Can Come True

  1. Have the time of your life and make the most of those 3 months in South Africa.
    “A journey, after all, neither begins in the instant we set out, nor
    ends when we have reached our door step once again. It starts much
    earlier and is really never over, because the film of memory continues
    running on inside of us long after we have come to a physical
    standstill. Indeed, there exists something like a contagion of travel,
    and the disease is essentially incurable.”
    — Ryszard Kapuściński (Travels with Herodotus)

  2. marichu

    I hope you find what you are searching for my lovely…..no doubt the experience will mark you in ways that you might not even expect.
    I your mum who loves you unconditionally wishes you the very best. I will not be near you to hold your hand as when you were my little man and protect you and make you feel safe but I will pray for you daily in the knowledge that God is there, guiding you, loving you and returning you safely to all those you leave behing, those who love you for who and what you are ….a shining star.

  3. I AM ACTUALLY CLOSING THE MAGAZINE!

    (Hope you arrived safe&sound with barely jet lag)

  4. Isabelle Gorgue

    So how is it Dani?? what about your first local post??? we are all waiting!!

  5. Ruth Brown

    Hi Dan
    I have enjoyed so much reading your blog, that I feel I am there with you your descriptions of places and people are brilliant.
    Take Care My wonderful Nephew
    Looking forward to hear more……..
    Lots of love
    Aunti Ruth XXXX

  6. – Hi Isa, are you liking the posts so far?? Hope all is well in the office🙂

    – Hi auntie, thanks for your comment. I would imagine that by now you have the keys to your new house. Wishing you the best of luck with the move, hope all the work gets done on time and you can move in pretty soon. Give Luke and Becky a big kiss from me. Lots of love.

  7. Great post however, I was wondering if you could write a little more on this subject?
    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

